Thursday, August 31, 2006

Discussion on Micronesia Challenge at MIC Retreat in the Saipan Tribune

The presence is Saipan of conservation leaders from the five entities signatories of the Micronesia Challenge to discuss the next steps in preparation for the Micronesia Challenge Planning Meeting schedule for December 4-8 in Palau was reported in the Saipan Tribune. The article "Pacific's environmentalists answer Micronesia Challenge" was published on August 23.

Wednesday, August 30, 2006

8th MIC Retreat in Saipan brings together 33 conservation leaders

The 8th Retreat of the Micronesians in Island Conservation (MIC) peer-learning network took place in Saipan August 20-24. Thirty-three conservationists from Micronesia, the US, Australia and the Caribbean met to discuss conservation issues, share information and lessons learned, establish collaborations and learning exchanges and agree on the next steps for the Network. For the first time conservation leaders from Guam and CNMI attended the retreat.
MIC 8th RETREAT PARTICIPANTS (in alphabetical order)
Simpson Abraham - Director, Kosrae Island Resources Management Authority (KIRMA) -- Kosrae, FSM
Dr. Tholman Alik - Board member, Yela Environmental Landowners Authority (YELA) -- Kosrae, FSM
Wayne Andrew - Manager, Helen Reef Resource Management Project (HRRMP) -- Koror, Palau
Lucille Apis-Overhoff - Partnership Specialist, The Nature Conservancy (TNC) Micronesia Program -- Pohnpei, FSM
Jesus Borja - Chairperson, Mariana Island Nature Alliance (MINA) -- Saipan, CNMI
Ricky Carl - Special Assistant Attorney General, Marine Conservation Unit (MCU) -- Pohnpei, FSM
Charles Chieng - Executive Director, Yap Community Action Program (Yap CAP) -- Yap, FSM
Ada Eledui - Director, Department of Conservation and Law Enforcement, Koror State Government -- Koror, Palau
Tina Fillmed - Executive Director, Yap State Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) -- Yap, FSM
Vanessa Fread - Environmental Program Development Officer, Yap Community Action Program (Yap CAP) -- Yap, FSM
Andy George - Executive Director, Kosrae Conservation & Safety Organization (KCSO) -- Kosrae, FSM
Jay Gutierrez - Acting Assistant Chief, Guam Department of Agriculture, Division of Aquatic & Wildlife Resources -- Guam
Tiare Holm - Executive Director, Palau Conservation Society (PCS) -- Koror, Palau
Albon Ishoda - President, Marshall Island Conservation Society (MICS) -- Majuro, RMI
Kathy Kesolei - Facilitator, Kathy Kesolei & Associates -- Koror, Palau
Willy Kostka - Executive Director, Micronesia Conservation Trust (MCT) -- Pohnpei, FSM
Andrzej Kozlowski - Manager, RARE -- USA
Trina Leberer - Marine Consrvation Coordinator, The Nature Conservancy (TNC) Micronesia Program -- Guam
Michael Looker - Director, The Nature Conservancy (TNC) Australia Program -- Australia
Evangeline Lujan - Administrator, Guam Coastal Management Program, Bureau of Statistics and Plans -- Guam
Barry McDonald - Director of Operations, The Nature Conservancy (TNC) Australia Program -- Australia
Susi Menazza Olmsted - MIC Coordinator, The Nature Conservancy (TNC) Micronesia Program -- Pohnpei, FSM
Mary Rose Nakayama - Secretary, Chuuk Conservation Society (CCS) -- Chuuk, FSM
Madison Nena - Chairperson, Kosrae Conservation & Safety Organization (KCSO) -- Kosrae, FSM
Lino Olopai - Board member, Mariana Island Nature Alliance (MINA) -- Saipan, CNMI
Bill Raynor - Director, The Nature Conservancy (TNC) Micronesia Program -- Pohnpei, FSM
Qamar Schuyler - Treasurer, Mariana Island Nature Alliance (MINA) -- Saipan, CNMI
Patterson Shed - Executive Director, Conservation Society of Pohnpei (CSP) -- Pohnpei, FSM
Aaron Sigrah - Chief of Staff, Governor’s Office -- Kosrae, FSM
Jason Spensley - Senior Protected Area Specialis, The Nature Conservancy (TNC) -- USA
Alissa Takesy - FSM Protected Areas Network Coordinator, FSM Department of Economic Affairs -- Pohnpei, FSM
Dr. Spencer Thomas - Economic Policy Adviser, Ministry of Finance -- Grenada
Olivier Wortel - Director, Equator Media Production (EQM) -- Kosrae, FSM

Saturday, August 5, 2006

Honor guests from the Caribbean at the Saipan retreat

Inspired by the launch of the Micronesia Challenge at the Coral Reef Task Force Meeting in Palau last November, the Caribbean country of Grenada undertook a similar initiative at the High Level Event hosted by the Palauan President at the 8th Conference of the Party (COP8) to the Convention on Biological Diversity that took place in Brazil in March 2006. At that event, Grenada committed to protect 25% of its marine resources and 25% of its terrestrial resources by 2020, thus launching the Caribbean Challenge. Since then, The Nature Conservancy has worked to creat a bridge between conservation leaders from Micronesia and the Caribbean involved in the two Challenges. In June 2006, Willy Kostka went to the Caribbean Workshop on Protected Areas (see June 30 post below) to share the experience and lessons learned of the emerging Micronesia Challenge. The success of that exchange inspired MIC to invite two conservation leaders from the Caribbean to the next retreat. Ms. Stacey Wells-Moutrie is the Senior Technical Officer with the BEST (Bahamas Environment Science and Technology) Commission, as well as Executive Board member of the Bahamas National Trust.
Dr. Spencer Thomas is a former Director General of Finance for Grenada and now is an advisor in the Ministry of Finance. He is also the CBD National focal point and Subsidiary Body on Scientific, Technical and Technological Advice (SBSTTA) Bureau Representative for GRULAC (Latin American and Caribbean Group). Dr. Thomas will be the keynote speaker a the retreat opening dinner on Sunday August 20.

Thursday, August 3, 2006

For the first time conservation leaders from Guam at a MIC retreat

MIC members have invited two conservation leaders form a Guam to participate to a MIC retreat. Evangeline (Vange) Lujan, is the Administrator of the Guam Coastal Management Program (GCMP), which is part of the Bureau of Statistics and Plans, a staff agency within the office of the Guam Governor.
Jay Gutierrez is the Acting Assistant Chief of the Division of Aquatic & Wildlife Resources (DAWR) of the Guam Department of Agriculture